#throwbackthursday: Lost in Hong Kong

IMG_3090 (1)“A person does not grow from the ground like a vine or a tree, one is not part of a plot of land. Mankind has legs so it can wander.”
Roman Payne

4 years ago, I decided to pack my bags and leave ‘cos my dream company rejected me and I felt nothing but hopelessness.

So let me share a few of what I’ve learned during my first ever solo travel.

As expected, it was a fantastic & nerve-wracking experience! At first I thought it was scary, but hey, leaving my comfort zone made me discover new things about myself- How strong, independent and strategic I am.

This solo travel changed my perspective in life. I was able to figure out things on my own, met new people and explored the other side of myself. I distinctly remember a bus driver hollered at me on my first day which I was able to handle with grace! haha! Too long to elaborate though! When I was looking for internet connection, an old Filipina helped me. She brought me to her beautiful apartment and she let me use her laptop. It’s frustrating I’ve forgotten her name! She’s an inspiration. Working at the age of 60ish and filling in a huge balikbayan box that she’ll send to Manila is just strikingly wonderful.

Day 1 was looking for the perfect boots, eating and roving over TST and wandering around Kowloon. Spent my entire day 2 in Disneyland then day 3 was just roaming around central, riding the tramp, reading Chinese newspapers (LOL) and taking pictures of myself! The word selfie hasn’t existed yet!

It’s also pleasant getting lost. Enjoying and embracing the time you have alone not knowing where your feet will lead you. Once you start scrutinizing each and every curve then you will realize traveling alone is the best thing that can ever happen to you.

So… What are you waiting for? (insert music cue: Love Me Like You Do lol)

Love,

Kat

 

.

 

 

Leave a Reply

