Good Reads: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

tumblr_inline_mgtikaWGMR1qze2t6

Read this last year. Read it again. And again. And again…

This book reminded me of high school and crushes. Made me recall what young love was like. Made me think of happy and sad moments when I was in love at such young age. Rainbow Rowell broke my heart into a thousand pieces. I was speechless when my eyes went through the last few lines of the book. But at the same time, my heart was ecstatic too. The story had my emotions flying into the air so high, like a free and careless bird up, up, up in the sky. Then suddenly crashing down the disk surface, bleeding. 

Setting was in 1986. Eleanor & Park is a story that tells of the romance between two misfits, Eleanor and Park. During their bus rides together, they start to read comics and listen to Park’s Walkman…

As much as I want to get into details, am scared I might reveal too much. You really have to read it! Sharing with you a few of my favorite lines:

“You can be Han Solo,” he said, kissing her throat. “And I’ll be Boba Fett. I’ll cross the sky for you.”

“I don’t like you, Park. I think I live for you. I don’t think I even breathe when we’re not together. Which means when I see you on Monday morning, it’s been like sixty hours since I’ve taken a breath. That’s probably why I’m so crabby, and why I snap at you. All I do when we’re apart is think about you, and all I do when we’re together is panic. Because every second feels so important. And because I’m so out of control, I can’t help myself. I’m not even mine anymore, I’m yours, and what if you decide that you don’t want me? How could you want me like I want you?”

“Holding Eleanor’s hand was like holding a butterfly. Or a heartbeat. Like holding something complete, and something alive.”

Gaaaaaaaaah!!!! Butterflies in my tummy!!!!!! I will cherish this book forever. Definitely wonderful! I’ll let my future kids read this (if ever I’ll have any lol) Ms. Rowell stole my heart. My only protest is, I want more.

Love,

Kat

P.S.

I hope those last three words were the right three words.

Leave a Reply

